Project - Modernize Styling and User Interface

OpenEMR recently completed a very large code refactor to support Bootstrap 4 (BS4). There is still much to do including replacing as much CSS/SASS with BS4 as possible, removing unneeded CSS/SASS, decreasing reliance on the !important tag, migrating the navbar to BS4, migrating inline stylesheets to external stylesheets, improving responsive behavior of the gui, ironing out bugs in the current themes, and improving the current themes and the overall gui experience.

Selected Student:
@stu01509

Mentors:
@tywrenn (primary)
@robert.down
@brady.miller

3 Likes

Hi, its vasu here wants to contribute in this idea. I have good knowledge and experience with Bootstrap along with CSS. I think its a great idea switching to bootstrap as it will help in overall GUI experience. Thanks.

1 Like

Hello!

My name is Kwasi, I’m an informatics pharmacist, and I’d like to get more involved with this project as well. I’m still a beginner programmer, but maybe I can be useful as a UX tester/designer/subject matter expert for some for the GUI improvements

1 Like

Hello !
My name is Surendra, I am a Computer Science Master’s student at University of Georgia, GA, USA. I have good knowledge of user interface development with more than 3 years of experience in CSS, Bootstrap 4 and JavaScript. I am highly interested in this project. It would be great migrating to bootstrap to improve responsiveness and many other aspects of UI.

1 Like

hi @vasujain314 , @kagyeman , and @surendrap720 ,

I’m guessing @tywrenn will weigh in here soon considering all the interest. I can provide some background and places to start since there is so much interest in this project.

Recommend checking out the recently completed BS4 migration issue and PR just to get an idea of the scale of that project (as stated in my post above, though, there is still lots to do):
Update to newest Bootstrap 4 · Issue #2807 · openemr/openemr · GitHub