Database for Testing Purposes (?)

Hi,

I am new to openEMR. I am an instructional designer and want to populate the EMR with fake data. Is there any database that has been created that we can get data from?

Hi @mmedian,

You can use slick data generator for random patient_data,insurance data. It can be download from the link here.

After creating the demo sql file,you need to import the particular sql file into you database.

For example :

mysql -u root -p openemr_database < demopatients.sql

You can also use default sample patient_data table available in the OpenEMR’s sql directory.

Let us know for further questions.

Thanks,
ViSolve

Hi @mmedina ,

Couple things.

How much data are you looking for?(we have some basic demo data that is used in the demos and we are currently working on supporting bringing in large amounts of demo data along with support for heavy data analysis): Can see several related project on the project roadmap here: http://www.open-emr.org/wiki/index.php/Roadmaps

We are also currently working on providing support for EDU (education, classrooms, instructional, research) use and can see more on this here: OpenEMR EDU

-brady

Thanks so much for your great support and quick answer. I would like to get enough data so we can create case-based scenarios for different classes. After each quarter, we should be able to reset the database and start over or add new data.

However, I have a bigger problem. We installed the application in AWS and I am trying to figure out how to have access directly to the database. I want to be able to import data automatically using mysql or phpmyadmin.

Once I know that, it will be easier to import the data. I know this is open source and perhaps we don’t get personalized support. If someone can guide me trying to find the way to get into the database, it will be great.

Hiya, @mmedina. Did you use one of our custom AWS deployments? If you can tell me which one, I can tell you how to get access.

Hi,