Adding Video Files to Client Documents

I am new to OpenEMR, and all EMR software basically. I am working on a project for a surgeon that would like to use 1080p video and save them to a client file to make them searchable at a later date. Is that possible within the client documents or is there and additional module for this?

@caerb43119 you can save client documents into patient document section into openemr you can create your own category into openemr and save that data into openemr

Hello @caerb43119 welcome to the community, I hope you find good useful info here.
This feature is documented in the OpenEMR wiki and discussed in the forum.

I suppose it’d be logical to start with the server config. Your EMR server’s default upload file size is adequate for typical pdfs and static images but I imagine videos will probably be much larger. Sorry I can’t help with the details of how to change that parameter, more than the fact that it’s in one of the server’s .ini files.

Once that’s set, in the EMR you may want to create a new category for these videos, which will appear in all patients’ Documents. See the wiki page,
https://www.open-emr.org/wiki/index.php/OpenEMR_7_Practice_Settings#Documents

Then to upload files to the document tree, in the wiki the instructions for uploading a file for a specific patient are here:
https://www.open-emr.org/wiki/index.php/HOWTO:_Send_Files_To_A_Patient_Portal_Account
You will use the Documents cattegory you created, of course, not the portal category they describe.

In the Forum it was most recently discussed here:

where they discuss uploading a file, but also the optional step of specifying which encounter to associate it with.

As far as making them searchable, what sort of search did you have in mind? I.e., what information do you want to see in the search results?

Feel free to come back here to ask any questions that may come up!
Best- Harley