Webservices, DICOM and DICOMSR support

daveseco7 wrote on Tuesday, September 08, 2015:

hi there,

I am currently studying the feasibility of using the OpenEMR as a RIS manager. For this I need to clarify some points that I could not see fulfill going through the wiki. Namely whether or not there is support for structured reports according to DICOMSR standard, if it’s necessary to use an external DICOM viewer to visualize the medical images and if there is some kind of webservice that allows export the information enabling interoperability with other systems.

Thank you for your time

mdsupport wrote on Tuesday, September 08, 2015:

Images in OpenEMR can be stored in filesystem or in CouchDB. The index is available in documents table. I am not aware of any webservice but with few line of code you can add needed information to CouchDB and you have complete access to the images.

daveseco7 wrote on Tuesday, September 08, 2015:

First of all thank you for the help. So that’s a way to store de medical images, but how does the staff use then, what i mean is, they need a DICOM viewer to see then.
And how about DICOM Strutured reports is there a way to support then ?

visolveemr wrote on Wednesday, September 09, 2015:

Hello David

We can save the DICOM images in OpenEMR documents. But to view the DICOM images, we could use RadScaper opensource DICOM viewer. We have done this long time back, by customizing OpenEMR and radscaper applet implementation.

Thanks
OpenEMR Customization/Support Team,
ViSolve Inc
services@visolve.com | Phone: 408-850-2243
Demo’s @ ViSolve Demo Library

daveseco7 wrote on Wednesday, September 09, 2015:

Thank you for the help, i really appreciate it.
With the aswers above i’m pretty much enlightened oh the DICOM viewer situation.