Using OpenEMR in Sri Lanka

kmendis56 wrote on Tuesday, March 17, 2015:

Hello

I am a family physician currently in Sri Lanka.My secondary speciality is medical informatics.
The past 10 years I worked in in Australia with very professional/commercial EMRs that is available to any doctor at a very reasonable price. in Sri Lanka there are no such EMRs. Cannot use a AUZ EMR because of legal problems.

I want to use a EMR in my practice and OpenEMR is the first choice.

I hope I can ask a few basic question?

1. Will there be any legal problems in using OpenEMR outside the US?

2. One of my top priorities in EMR is the ability to write a electronic script. I would like to have at least generic medication names (Brand names would be a bonus).
    Is there a medical list or script writing system that can be obtained free or for a payment that I can use with OpenEMR?

3. Similarly I would like to use ICPC-2 codes with the diagnosis - is this possible?

Thank you in advance

Kumara Mendis

lasan13 wrote on Tuesday, March 17, 2015:

Hi Kumara
Nice to see another sri lankan in the forum. Right now I also trying to customizing the openEMR for my practice in Sri lanka
1.There won’t be any issue in using openEMR outside USA as its can come with " GNU GENERAL PUBLIC LICENSE"
2. you can create script using CAMOS module
3.openEMR is designed to support ICPC-2 but im not sure whether its fully functioning

If you need more information please let me know

blankev wrote on Tuesday, March 17, 2015:

ICPC-2 as well as ICPC-1 are not implemented in the Production versions and not in the Demo.

Would love to hear some suggestions on how to get these implemented. For General Practice is is a far better tool to code, compared to ICD which is far better for Hospital setting.

But ICPC is not very popular in the US.

There are some WIKI pages dedicated to ICPC implementation but it is still in a preliminary phase.