Total cost of OpenEMR?

I know this can vary but what are OpenEMR users’ average monthly costs including hosting, messaging service, etc.? For instance, MedEx costs about $100/month, right?

For a solo practice I’m trying to compare OpenEMR to a solution such as Elation Health which today (Feb. 2019) charges about $350 per “provider” (I hate that term).

I believe in free software (free as in freedom) and that’s what led me to investigate OpenEMR over the past year or so but it’s a lot of work and I am a real novice when it comes to understanding the backend of OpenEMR.

Paul

Hi @paulr,

Welcome to the community. You correctly guessed price is going to vary on the clinic. To deploy to Amazon’s AWS platform you have a couple of option. This datasheet helps show the estimated cost, note the “AWS Marketplace” means a relatively automated install process, where as Express Plus will require some tech skills, nothing the community wouldn’t help you learn, just something to consider.

The prices listed are what you’ll be paying AWS for the infrastructure. You don’t pay OpenEMR per “user” - the price you see is purely for the resources required to run the underlying resources.

Hope that helps estimate your costs!

Paul,
OpenEMR is free and you have different options to select from Amazon hosting.
You only pay to Amazon for their hosting cost.
Here is a link from Open-emr on package comparison:
https://www.open-emr.org/wiki/index.php/AWS_Cloud_Packages_Comparison

Here is a price link from AWS:
Standard Edition:
https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/OEMR-OpenEMR-Cloud-Standard-Edition/B07BBT4C1H

Express Edition:
https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/B077G76DWN

By the way, is the concern price or functionality from your current vendor?

Visolve OpenEMR support Team

Visolve, I have not started my practice yet so this is not a change / upgrade from an existing EMR.