Patient Summary screen for smoking pet owners

Hi,
I want to move the smoking status field (tobacco) from the patient History summary to the Guardian demographics tab, since our patients (a veterinary clinic) do not smoke but the owners (Guardian) do. I changed the form_id column in the layout_options table manually from “HIS” to “DEM”. It used to work in 4.2.0 but not anymore in 5.0.0.
I get an SQL error saying :

ERROR: insert failed: INSERT INTO patient_data SET pid = ' etc.etc.....
Error: Unknown column 'tobacco' in 'field list'
/var/www/openemr/library/patient.inc at 999:sqlInsert
/var/www/openemr/interface/new/new_comprehensive_save.php at 70:updatePatientData(1,Array,1)

Apparently I need to change something. I looked through these files if I could customize them, but have no idea where and what exactly. I’m a vet, not a developer (yet).

How can I do this? Is this easily done, or better leave the field where it is if code change is too complex…
thanks,
Roland, from Germany

Hi @roland,

Two things:

1. You can accomplish this by using Administration > Layout > Demographics. You can actually copy the way it is done in Administration > Layout > History and then remove that entry. I would not advise you to manually tweak the database or lists raw. Also, be careful and deliberate with the layout editor. I am the first one to admit that the feature is sometimes buggy and will require a good bit of patience and carefulness. Let me know if you need anything else!

2. We, the OpenEMR community, are always looking for interesting stories about our users to post on here: http://www.open-emr.org/wiki/index.php?title=OpenEMR_Success_Stories - if you are able, can you provide me some background on your clinic? You’d be the first vet user and I think it would be great to shine a light on your unique use case! My email is matthewvita48 (at) gmail (dot) com! No pressure here!

Thanks,

Matthew Vita
OpenEMR Project Administrator

Hi Matthew,