Optometry/Ophthalmology practices?

eyeballz80 wrote on Thursday, November 17, 2011:

Hello,
To give you some context, I’m an optometrist and python programmer.  I have a private practice in Olympia, WA.  I’ve found nothing in the way of open source vision care software.  Most of the closed source stuff is Windows only (cringe) and not very customizable to my needs (we do some specialty stuff most eye doctors don’t do.) 

OpenEMR seems to be the most promising option I have found. The major roadblock seems to be the product inventory, which needs to have categories for spectacle frames, lenses, and contact lenses, for which there are a number of parameters that need to be specified.  Another issue would be creating prescriptions for glasses and contact lenses.

I’ve found a few threads in this forum about people expressing interest in using OpenEMR for optometry, but does anyone know if this has actually happened or is being worked on?  I would be willing work on this or contribute in any way I can.  I have experience with mysql, xml, css, but not PHP (but I’d be willing to learn though.)

Any information/advice you can provide would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks!
-Levi

tmccormi wrote on Thursday, November 17, 2011:

Levi,

My company currently has a few new customers that are Opthamologists so we are developing tools to meet that need.  All of them also have Optometry practices attached or sharing space.   We have not reached the level of discussions around that need just yet, but we would be interested moving toward some features for this category, as would our clients.  Drop me a line if you like.

Tony

tony ‘@’ mi-squared.com

hecardo wrote on Friday, November 18, 2011:

Levi

My company has been working on a eye exam form for several months now. If you would like to look at what we are working on email me richarddwilliams ‘@’ mac.com

Rick

sunsetsystems wrote on Friday, November 18, 2011: