Name of the database for translations

fbll wrote on Friday, June 27, 2008:

Hi community, I am newby using OpenEMR. In fact I am just testing it.
As my colleagues do not speak english I would like to translate OpenEMR to Spanish during this summer hollidays.
It is one of my projects for this summer and I am decided to do that.

The question is that I am going to do the job at home in my private PC. When I finish the traslation,
- Is it possible to put it in other computer?
- What are the files I have to modify?
- Is the medical database the same as the translation one?

I’ve never worked with PHP nor MySQL, but I have some experience with other programming languages.

Your comments will be appreciated. Regards from Spanish Mediterranean.

drbowen wrote on Thursday, July 03, 2008:

There are three tables that are concerned:

lang_constants

Defines a small number of English language constants.  This table currently contains 56 terms that are mostly demographic oriented.

lang_definitions

This table actually holds the terms that you are looking for and currently holds 173 terms.

lang_languages

This is a table that assigns a code for each language.  Spanish (es) is number 3.

Very likely you will only need to add terms to "lang_definitions".

Some of the forms predate the multi-language capability and have not yet been convrted to the xl() format required to allow the translation to take place.  This is somewhat time consuming but relatively easy to fix.  Each time a term that is displayed in the browser such as a text label for for a text box the term needs to have a small amount of xml code added.

A line of code such as:

<span class="text" >How did Injury Occur?:</span><br>

which is the label to a text box would need to be modified to:

<span class=‘bold’><?php xl(‘How did Injury Occur?’,‘e’); ?>: </span>

Then a Spanish translation is inserted into the "lang_definitions" table and the translation should occur.

Sincerely,

Sam Bowen, MD