LIS Integration with Open EMR

Hi we are a Lab and we are using LabDaq had our LIS system and we have some draw sites where we need to use EMR.So we have installed OPEN EMR and all the basic setup is finished.so what are my options to establish bidirectionally HL7 integration where automatic results and orders will go. If not how to upload the results manually.

Thank you

hi @sarram1210, bidirectional hl7 isn’t built into the community version i believe.

Stephen

Thank you for your reply.

So what are my options? Is it unidirectional is possible where I can only transfer results to EMR. Or at least can I upload results manually

hi @sarram1210, yes, if you setup sftp you can automate results only.

Stephenwaite

As of now both the LIS and EMR on the same network. Do we still need to use SFTP or any other alternatives?

hi @sarram1210, after you add the lab in the address book you can configure the connection under procedures->providers.

Hi there,

I’m fairly new to OpenEMR, but I am running community edition in a dev environment and have HL7 orders flowing out and results flowing back in. At least in 5.0.1, when you setup your procedure provider, you can specify a folder to send the order to (Orders Path). OpenEMR will write an HL7 message to a file in that folder and you can use Mirth to pick it up, read it, and send it on to your LIS. It also has a field for specifying the results (Results Path). If you setup a results channel in Mirth to write a properly formatted HL7 ORU to a file in that folder, you can pickup the results by visiting Procedures --> Electronic Reports. If needed, you can even embed a Base64 PDF report in the OBX segment of the message and OpenEMR will attach it to the documents section of the patient’s record.

I’m using it to send orders and results between OpenEMR and EEG software, but the mechanism should be the same.

-Craig

2 Likes

hi @sarram1210, did you see this?

Thanks, Craig For detailed explanation.