Is anyone working on FreeBSD port for OpenEMR?

Hello:

I learned about OpenEMR when I was on the FreeBSD website reading the porter’s handbook. There was a list of requested applications for which a FreeBSD port currently does not exist, and OpenEMR was on that list. I said, “what is that?” and discovered OpenEMR…

I am currently a practicing optometrist in rural NW Missouri, USA and I am evaluating whether OpenEMR would / could be a viable replacement for our current EHR (Revolution EHR). Optometry is my 2nd career – prior to this I had 12 years experience working as a software engineer. My first job was working with Medical Manger software, after that, I had data warehouse experience at Sprint PCS. The first versions of Linux were posted when I was a college student, and I’ve used FreeBSD for one reason or another at least since FreeBSD version ~6. Furthermore, my brother may or may not be a FreeBSD developer with 30 years experience…

I have Open EMR running successfully on my FreeBSD 14.0BETA4 box with Apache 2.4 ; MariaDB 10.11 ; php 8.2, and before I started working on making a FreeBSD port for OpenEMR, I thought I’d reach out to ensure I’m not duplicating efforts, etc…

hi @DrBassmanOD , neat background, thanks for sharing.

There used to be a debian package but OpenEMR is now either installed as you have done or run as a docker.

@gutiersa do you still run OpenEMR on your BSD machine? You may be interested in connecting with @DrBassmanOD

2 Likes

I took some time today to try the docker method – it is much easier than trying to make sure I have all the correct software installed, etc. The only drawback is docker doesn’t run on FreeBSD – it is possible to run OpenEMR in a docker which is running on a linux VM inside of FreeBSD as I discovered.

In the process, I think I’ve verified a bug in OpenEMR…

1. login to OpenEMR
  2. hover on the current user icon in the upper right corner → MFA Management.
  3. click the Add new… → TOTP Key