Installing OpenEMR 5.0.1 on Centos 7 x64

Hi all, I’m new to the forums and hope I’m posting in the correct category. (Which I just changed to Management & Admin since I didn’t see that before, sorry.)

The short story is that I’m having trouble getting MariaDB to work properly with PHP 7 & OpenEMR 5.0.1 on CentOS 7. The long story is this:

I’m pretty new to OpenEMR (and still pretty new to Linux too), and have only used 5.0.0 a little before 5.0.1 came out. When I upgraded, OpenEMR quit working because 5.0.1 requires PHP version 5.6.x - 7.2.x, and the official Centos repo only has PHP 5.5. :expressionless:

I backed up my data before upgrading, so I’m not too worried about that - and being new to OpenEMR it won’t be a total loss if I have to start from scratch either.

Anyway, I screwed up yum somehow (the Centos package installer), so I wiped the system and reinstalled fresh. I’m running CentOS 7 x64, and did a yum update before trying anything else. After lots of online searching, I got PHP 7.1 installed by following the guide at https://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/php7 (including creating the file fpm.conf to redirect PHP requests, but did NOT change the default port), and the package requirements listed at https://www.open-emr.org/wiki/index.php/OpenEMR_System_Architecture#CentOS . I got PHP 7.1 working, and confirmed it by visiting localhost/phpinfo.php and saw the pretty PHP version info. Joy! :slight_smile: