Import from a .csv

pfindan wrote on Monday, July 09, 2012:

Hello,
I am working on setting up OpenEMR in a hearing clinic. They use a program called NOAH for setting hearing aids, in this the program has a database of names, phone numbers, ect. The program will export this info to a .csv .  How would I go about importing this into OpenEMR. I have very little knowledge of SQL, so I cannot write a script as others have suggested. I am also not authorized for privacy reasons to enlist 3rd party support. I have added custom fields to the Demographics in OpenEMR if that matters.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

juggernautsei wrote on Tuesday, July 10, 2012:

We can try help you through the import process.
Can you share what fields need to be imported?

These will be used to make corrisponding table columns.

Sherwin
openmedpractice.com

Where can I find NOAH? Can we download a demo of the program, if so where?

Sherwin

Sorry for all the messages, the simple solution is to open the CSV file in Excel and save it as a PDF and import it into the patient document folder. If your copy of Excel does not have the save as PDF pluggin, you can install it free from Microsoft.

Let me know if this is a viable solution.

Sherwin
openmedpractice.com

yehster wrote on Tuesday, July 10, 2012:

PDF import is certainly not what OP hopes to accomplish.  He doesn’t have excel spreadsheets he wants to associate with individual patients.  He has a list of patients in a .CSV and needs to create a patient record which corresponds to each row.

Learning SQL, or some other way to manipulate the database will be required.
http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.1/en/connector-odbc-examples-tools-with-access.html
If you are comfortable with MS Access using ODBC and attached tables might be an option.
Going through .PDF is certainly a red-herring.

yehster wrote on Tuesday, July 10, 2012: