How to indicate to users that a duplicate record exists?

Given that the merge records feature is experimental, and in my experience unusable, what do people do with duplicate records?

I’m wondering whether there is some way to make a very obvious note that a particular record has a duplicate, perhaps using something of these to make it known in a popup notice when selecting a patient record:

Clinical Reminders
Administration > Patients > Patient Reminders
Administration > Practice > Rules
Administration > Practice > Alerts

I’ve never used any of the above before; am just starting to think about this.

Thanks

If you wish to avoid use of a record, why would you not delete it? Or clean up the record as admin by deleting encounters and issues. Then you can reuse that same record for other patient. It is just a number.

Because the duplicates are in the same instance of OpenEMR, they have different encounter information where different people have used the different records before it was discovered there were duplicates.

And elsewhere the duplicates are in different instances of OpenEMR, where previously there were two separate systems, but now only one is used, and eventually they will need merging.

Any ideas as to better ways to proceed would be gratefully received.

When I say “duplicate record” I mean duplicate patient, not duplicate contents of the patient record.

hi @PeteBoyd, before you try a merge make a backup, let us know if something fails and we’ll fix any bugs like the recent lists_touch fix and change the status of merge patient from experimental to approved for use.