How do I create new reports

profjake wrote on Tuesday, September 18, 2007:

Im new to OpenEMR.
What is the appropriate way to add new reports?
Do I take one of the other php report programs like the appointments report and use it as a template to edit and create a new one?
Then do I manually edit the link and name of that report into the ./templates/reports/general_reports.html file??
I mean, isnt there a better way to create a custom report and then store that report name and php link in a table that gets querried when you click on the "REPORTS" button on the nav pane?

sunsetsystems wrote on Thursday, September 20, 2007:

Yes, that’s the basic drill for making a new report.  A better way would be most welcomed!

Rod
www.sunsetsystems.com

profjake wrote on Thursday, September 20, 2007:

Well what I did was I changed the Appointment report in these ways

1. I added a reason column
2. I added a Copay column which is the copay amt of the primary insurance (if found)
3. I added a Notes/Comment field which is the Comments you type in on setting up an appointment.
4. I got rid of the Provider column. Most of the time, you are printing/using this report to give to the doc so he can pull charts or know his day. Rarely do you need a report of all appointments for all providers on a given day and if you did, why would you care what the provider’s name was (my opinion).

I am also going to add end time AND, Im gonna convert the time into AM/PM time. Has anyone done this yet? This should be a function in common api Id think. Do you think I should make that a config flag? Or is it already a config flag I can query? If not, I recommend one… a Euro time versus USA time flag.