Current state of HL7/CCD

rdejournett wrote on Thursday, January 22, 2015:

Hi, I am an HL7 developer and I am wondering what the current state of this project is with respect to import or export of HL7 data, and if there was anything I could do to assist.

Ie - is there a user interface for import of data such as a bridging tool for lab ORUs?

Are other types of HL7 messages wanted or needed and not present? Or not very current?

Thanks!

teryhill wrote on Thursday, January 22, 2015:

I know there is a need for the ability to do a demographics interface (insurance, patient information, encounter information, etc) so openemr can communicate with other systems.

Terry

sunsetsystems wrote on Thursday, January 22, 2015:

We have a pressing need to export QRDA Category I and Category III reports to satisfy MU2. This is XML stuff based on CDA and thus HL7. We’re having a tough time digesting the spec and finding examples. Got any insight/experience in that area?

Rod
http://www.sunsetsystems.com/

Ignore.

Rod, just a bit, most of my experience is implementing traditional interfaces HL7 2.x and a bit of CDA/CCD. The spec is here http://www.hl7.org/implement/standards/product_brief.cfm?product_id=286

Looks like a mouthful. Have you been able to extract the QRDA required information? Is it a display/ ETL issue?

Sounds like a bidirectional ADT interface. I looked at the user documentation and did not see anything describing HL7 interfaces. THere are two large issues: Creating the backend services needed, and creating the UI infrastructure for things like monitoring status of interfaces.