Ask a Clinician

Posting this in the Developer category because I think it’ll get more visibility.

We spend a lot of time talking about solving software development problems - which is awesome, I love it. But, I’ve often wondered if developers want to know more about the clinical side of healthcare. As a nurse I have the unique perspective of speaking both the technical and clinical languages.

I plan on presenting on a Saturday call and want developer feedback. What questions do you have about clinical workflows? My experience is in the inpatient, acute care hospital setting, but I have studied the administrative side of healthcare as well. Looking forward to putting together a meaningful (pun completely intended) discussion.

3 Likes

For me, I would love an explanation on what is done on a daily basis that is common for 50-70% of your patients. I’d like OpenEMR to be able to address the needs of all the various specialties, but I would love to know how the workflows that are commonly used in acute care facilities are supported, or different from what we currently have in OpenEMR.

For me just hearing a narrative of the ‘typical’ day at the hospital and the tools and data that is needed / tracked for the common scenarios would be very insightful. If I think of other things I’ll post them.

I think this is a great idea! The primary disconnect I’ve seen in OpenEMR is when the dev doesn’t know the clinical significance of the workflow they’re coding and includes extraneous steps or data collection. Not that it happens very often- I mean, Brady is an MD and (though I don’t run in dev circles) I expect he does exert some influence in keeping the EMR on track that way.

One thing I’ve come to appreciate is how utterly different each healthcare practice is from every other. Not only between disciplines but between the workflows you find in different Pediatrician’s office routines, for example.

O’Reilly published a book, ‘Hacking Healthcare’