Read about OpenEMR's Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic at https://www.open-emr.org/covid19/

Openemr:flex add xdebug using Dockerfile

I apologize for my ignorance upfront. I’m fairly new to PHP and am trying to set up a local openemr
environment where I can debug openEMR using PhpStorm and xdebug to learn how it runs. I cloned the openemr/openemr-devops repository locally, modified the Dockerfile to install xdebug, modified the php.ini file with the xdebug directives, created a new image, but get an error at startup - file not found.

Portion of Dockerfile modified - added apk directive to install php7-xdebug

#Install dependencies
RUN apk --no-cache upgrade
RUN apk add --no-cache
apache2 apache2-ssl git php7 php7-tokenizer php7-ctype php7-session php7-apache2
php7-json php7-pdo php7-pdo_mysql php7-curl php7-ldap php7-openssl php7-iconv
php7-xml php7-xsl php7-gd php7-zip php7-soap php7-mbstring php7-zlib
php7-mysqli php7-sockets php7-xmlreader php7-redis perl php7-simplexml php7-xmlwriter php7-
phar php7-fileinfo
php7-sodium php7-calendar
php7-xdebug
mysql-client tar curl imagemagick npm
python3 openssl git libffi-dev py-pip python3-dev build-base openssl-dev dcron
rsync shadow jq

php.ini modifications - the lines I added to end of [PHP] section …

zend_extension=/usr/lib/php7/modules/xdebug.so
xdebug.coverage_enable=0
xdebug.remote_enable=1
xdebug.remote_connect_back=1
xdebug.remote_log=/tmp/xdebug.log
xdebug.remote_autostart=true

I’ll keep looking and experimenting, but if anyone has some recommendations for getting debugging to work with flex I would appreciate it.

Thanks,

Nick

I solved my issue. I just used docker exec to get into the openemr container, followed the xdebug.org wizard recommendations, used docker commit to write out the new image, and now have a openemr container running xdebug. Next step, get it working with PHPStorm.

Well, that was somewhat painful, but I got it working.

add to php.ini file in /etc/php7
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;