CMS Portal update and Frontend PM to replace cartpauj-pm

I do not know how many are actually using the CMS portal but I have been using it for a couple years now and would not go without it. But it needs an update.

Cartpauj-pm is looking a little dated. A newer plugin that appears to have been modeled after cartpauj-pm is Frontend PM. It has a lot more features and is built on a responsive design.

Issues:
The free version does not restrict communication with admin only. This is how cartpauj-pm is set up and to do that you either need to modify the code yourself or buy the pro version for $29. I did the pro version. And set it up for admin only in the settings>recipients tab. Unless this is setup for admin only the patient can send messages to any patient on the site which is not good. With admin only set up, they do not have that field accessible to them anymore.

Next, as with cartpauj-pm, the display name is an issue. If you want to see the client, first/last name and with an email address afterward (as I do) you need to set up the display name to look like that in wordpress. I used the Force First Last plugin to change all the display names to be first last name plus email. I had to modify this to include the email address in the display name with the patient’s name. So within the plugin file, force-first-last.php on line 40 I changed it to this:

$display_name = trim($_POST['first_name'] . " " . $_POST['last_name'] . "--" .  $_POST['user_email']);

On line 60 I changed it to this:

$display_name = trim($info->first_name . ' ' . $info->last_name . '--' . $info->user_email);

This allows me to search for the client/patient by any part of their name or email.

Then there are some formatting issues. I added some custom CSS in the settings>general tab to make the participants field a little smaller to accommodate the longer user names:

.fep-message-title-heading.participants {
font-size: 10px !important;	
}